a good loss
2009-07-01 at 1:06 p.m.

As a woman, my weight has always been an issue in my life. Whether it was simply on the back burner, or the forefront of all things in my life, I always cared about my weight and body image.

Since my teenage years, I have, obviously, gained weight. It was not until I was about 22 years old that it became more noticeable that I'd gained. I tried halfheartedly to lose weight, but always ended up frustrated and self hating even more than before.

From ages 24 to now (26) I was at my heaviest. Surprising many with the exact number of my weight, no one thought I was "that big". I carry it pretty well, although most of it is in my midsection.

About a month ago I saw my father's diabetic foot, with two toenails removed, infected sores turning black, and something clicked inside me. Based on family history, obesity, diabeties, heart problems, high cholesterol plagues most members of my father's family. If I do not take better care of myself now, while I am healthy, it may get to the point where I cannot help myself without drastic measures.

I started eating properly, whole foods, no junk, no evening eating or munching, no pop. I walked everyday, sometimes did small jogging spurts, and drank lots and lots of water.

Since I've started this, I have lost 16lbs. It feels great, though I still have my moments where I just want to pig out, I think I've done pretty well.

I want to continue doing this, I want to lose about 30 or 40lbs. Someone once told me not to look at the total number I want to lose, but rather focus on losing one or two pounds at a time, which is what I have been doing.

Here's to hoping this path will continue, that I will not lose focus.

relive - a new

newest
old entries
profile
notes
design
host