rid yourself of vanity and just go with the seasons
2009-06-28 at 5:33 p.m.

Our camping trip is over. The weekend was spent swatting a million mosquitoes and black flies as they fed off of our flesh and blood. We went through a whole can of fly dope in one day. The damp, muggy weather we've had for the past two weeks contributed to the excess amounts of mosquitoes at the park.

I can honestly say that I've had better camping trips. The weather cooperated for the most part, it only rained in the early morning on both days. Our company was nice, we spent alot of time with them, playing badminton and laughing at Josh everytime he would try to retrieve the birdie from the maple trees. We tossed our patriotic frisbee in the woods, then jogged down to the lake where we continued to play frisbee until the kids decided to go for a swim.

Nighttime was spent in front of the campfire, of course. Only a few marshmallows were consumed, thankfully. 120 calories for 4 mallows is entirely unforgiveable. The boys played Cribbage as the girls chatted by the fire.

What was less than enjoyable was how damp our air mattress and sleeping bags were from day one. Normally this doesn't bother me so much, but this weekend I found it too uncomfortable to sleep. That combined with the massive amounts of mosquitoes really took away from our camping experience.

I used to think it would be great to do some backcountry camping, but I'm such a chicken that I know I wouldn't be able to do it. Every flicker of lightning in the distance made me uncomfortable, and the loons in the lake sounded far too much like coyotes. I even hate the thought of raccoons meddling about the campsites.

I guess the older I get, the more guarded I become.



relive - a new

newest
old entries
profile
notes
design
host