body
2009-07-14 at 6:53 p.m.

Last Sunday evening we made a gruesome discovery.

We were on our usual walk, and as usual we saw a woman walking and greeted her hello as we kept walking.

Minutes later we can hear her screams. As we turned around to see what was wrong, she ran towards us saying 'I think I just saw a body in the water!'.

We start running.

Surely she must be mistaken, I thought. So many people swim there, she likely saw discarded clothing.

I scan the lakeshore and see nothing. I rest my hands on the bridge's guardrail and look down, and there it was.

The body of a white male, face down, pants around his legs.

I begin to scream.

J holds me, tries to comfort me. He has not yet seen the man fl0ating in the water. I am hysterical, I cannot stop crying. I begin jumping up and down in the middle of the road, waving my arms, stopping the oncoming traffic.

The man's b0dy had been dumped there. His legs were tied. He was not w3aring a shirt. He was dead. Someone killed this man.

It was the worst thing I have ever seen in my 26 years of life.

It left me scared. It left me paranoid. It left me nervous, uneasy and sick.

We found out the man is a former wife beater. A drug addict. A hard partier with more enemies than friends.

But all of that doesn't make a gruesome discovery any easier.

relive - a new

newest
old entries
profile
notes
design
host