Newfie grocery shopping
2012-04-11 at 1:18 p.m.

A few years back at one of my old jobs, I worked with a friendly little woman from Newfoundland. We never did talk much but I liked her, and had the impression that she liked me too. I remember overhearing our boss teasing her one day about what the woman was planning on cooking for supper that evening after work. Rather, teasing her because the woman had a meal plan. Sensing that I was listening, the woman looked my way and said "Every week I sit down with the flyers and plan our meals for the week around what is on sale."

Cut to a good 7 years later, a lightbulb goes off in my head (just last week). "What do you want for suppers next week?" I asked J. We sit down and plan out what we'd like to eat, and I start looking through our flyers. I write down all the ingredients we need that we don't already have, and other things we need.

This was highly effective for the following reasons:

-I got to use up what we already had.
-I knew exactly what I needed to buy.
-We didn't buy any unecessary grocery items.
-We didn't forget any grocery items.
-I don't have to rummage through the cupboards, fridge, freezer to try and figure out what to cook for supper.

Also, the total for our groceries for a family of 3 for the week came to $95.

I'm thinking back to the woman from Newfoundland, and thinking that our boss had it wrong the whole time.

relive - a new

newest
old entries
profile
notes
design
host