not my hair
2012-01-31 at 4:36 p.m.

Some days are golden, others are a rusty around the edges. All in all, everything is wonderful. Teething, though, I have a feeling will be the cause of more grey hair for me. J still has none, that's only because I'm growing enough for the two of us.

This is not to say that I'm not happy, quite the contrary. All I am saying is that my hair has not seen dye in...years!

I'm a breastfeeding mom, and people tell me constantly that it's okay for me to dye my hair, I've had people offer to watch the baby so I could go get it done, people have actually offered to pay if I wanted it done. And oh, the comments from the peanut gallery are plentiful.

Example: A friend of mine recently popped by for a visit, and hadn't seen me in a year and a half. Told me I was thinner than before, that I look good. Then came the "You're going a bit grey there, L! Wow, what happened?".

What happened is I'm not so superficial that the number one thing on my to do list is to get my hair done. Kudos to the moms who want to get a sitter once a week to get their hair done or nails done, or get a sitter so they can clean or nap. I don't do that. And that doesn't make me better than anyone else, I just don't feel the need to constantly run out and get things done. I grew up on a dirt road, fell off of bikes, fell out of trees, skinned my knees plenty, went fishing, rode bikes until it was so dark the moon lit the way. I never had the girly impulse that I must go pretty myself at a salon.

I'm not sure where I'm going with this. I'm making myself out to be a hairy, dirty tomboy with bushy eyebrows, hairy legs and armpits. I'm not that either. I just don't go to a salon and treat myself often, I guess is what I mean.

And now, with a baby, I'm a tad bit busy with other things and really don't care if I have a few grey hair. If they bother someone else, that's just too bad. I know I'm only 29 and have grey hair but the reality is I started getting them when I was 17. Now, when I get some time to myself my first impulse is not to run to a salon and talk about things that don't interest me with a person I have nothing in common with. I want to be alone, so I have a nice looooong relaxing bath. Depending how much more me time I have, I read. Or I watch Netflix with J.

So pardon me for having grey hair.

PS-
These people telling me I have grey hair really ought to look in the mirror once in awhile. Ha!

relive - a new

newest
old entries
profile
notes
design
host